State of Colorado

## DUE DATE APRIL 15, 2025 FOR ASSESSMENT YEAR BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2025

## **General Information**

## (Declaration Schedules and Attachments Are Confidential And Private Documents By Law.)

For these instructions, please refer to the following statutes: §§ 39-3-102, 39-3-118.5, 39-3-119.5, 39-5-104.5, 39-5-104.7, 39-5-107, 39-5-108, 39-5-108.5, 39-5-110, 39-5-113 through 117, 39-5-120, and 39-21-113(7), C.R.S.

In accordance with § 39-3-119.5, C.R.S., you are not required to file this declaration if the total actual value of your personal property per county is \$56,000 or less.

If you are unsure as to whether the total actual value of your personal property per county exceeds \$56,000, please contact the county assessor.

**WHO FILES A DECLARATION SCHEDULE?** The owner (legal titleholder) of taxable personal property, their agent, and those in possession and/or control of the taxable personal property as of January 1 must file a declaration schedule. All personal property, such as a business/organization's: Equipment Security Devices Machinery Household Furnishings

■ Personal Effects, not otherwise exempt by law, must be listed on this schedule.

**IS YOUR BUSINESS NEW? ARE YOU A NEW OWNER?** If you answer "yes" to either question, or you have never filed with the county assessor and you own taxable personal property, you are required to provide a complete detailed listing of all machinery, equipment, and other personal property with an original installed cost over <u>\$350</u>. Please include: Item ID Number I Property Description Model Number Year Acquired Original Installed Cost to You.

## PRORATION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUE IS GENERALLY NOT ALLOWED.

As of January 1, 1996, the only proration of personal property value allowed is for Works of Art loaned to and used for charitable purposes by an exempt organization. If other taxable personal property was located in Colorado on the assessment date, it is taxable for the entire assessment year, providing that, if it was newly acquired, it was put into use as of the assessment date (January 1). If it was not located in the state on the assessment date, or if it was newly acquired, but was <u>not</u> put into use as of the assessment date, it cannot be taxed until the <u>next</u> assessment year. Except for works of art, <u>personal property that is exempt on the assessment date retains its exempt status for the entire assessment year</u>. These requirements do not affect the proration of <u>real</u> property.

WHEN DO YOU FILE? This form must be received by the county assessor by the April 15 deadline EVERY YEAR.

**HOW DO YOU FILE FOR AN EXTENSION?** You may extend the deadline if, by April 15, the assessor receives your written request AND \$20 for a 10-day extension, or \$40 for a 20-day extension. This extension applies to **only personal property** schedules (single or multiple) which a person is required to file in the county.

<u>WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU FAIL TO FILE</u>? The late filing penalty is \$50 or 15% of the taxes due, whichever is less. If you fail to file a schedule, the assessor shall determine a valuation based upon the BEST INFORMATION AVAILABLE and shall add a penalty of up to 25% of assessed value for any omitted property discovered and valued later.

# <u>NOTE:</u> Failure to properly file a declaration schedule may prevent you from receiving an abatement per Colorado case law. Property Tax Adm'r v. Production Geophysical, 860 P.2d 514 (Colo. 1993)

<u>WHY IS THE DECLARATION FORM IMPORTANT</u>? Assessors use this information to help calculate the property's actual value. This value is based on the property's use and condition as of January 1 of each assessment year.

## WHAT HAPPENS AFTER YOU SUBMIT THIS FORM?

- The assessor may request more information or conduct a physical inventory of your personal property at your business location.
- Notices of Valuation are mailed on June 15 to the address listed on this schedule.

#### INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING EARTH OR STONE PRODUCTS REAL AND PERSONAL PROPERTY DECLARATION SCHEDULE, DS 648

A. <u>NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS</u>: Write any corrections to the preprinted name/address information under Change of Name or Address. If you are not the current business owner, please list the name and address of the new owner in the appropriate box. Also, list the date that the property was sold to the new owner.

**<u>PHYSICAL LOCATION/LEGAL DESCRIPTION</u>**: If not preprinted, enter the actual physical location/legal description of all real and personal property you own in the county. This includes property owned by you or under your control or in your possession as of January 1. Indicate if there has been a change in location. List any additional property locations.

B. **<u>OPERATION</u>**: Complete this section by providing your business start-up date and the primary product or service.

**BUSINESS STATUS:** Check the box that best describes the status of your business and property.

- C. <u>PRODUCTION</u>: Please list the description, volume, royalty rate (per ton OR per cubic yard), and retail sale price (per ton OR per cubic yard) of any earth or stone extracted during the preceding calendar year. Do <u>not</u> include overburden. If both sand and gravel and borrow are extracted, please list each product on a separate line. Borrow is defined as material, which subsequent to extraction, is usually not processed in any manner prior to sale or use. If this earth or stone operation is on leased land, please indicate the current royalty rate paid.
- D. <u>LEASE AND PERMIT INFORMATION</u>: If the property is leased, submit the information pertaining to the lease. Please indicate the Colorado Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety (DRMS) permit number.
- E. <u>LAND INFORMATION</u>: Please indicate the: Number of acres under permit by the DRMS Number of acres affected by the mining operation as of January 1, and Estimated life of the deposit in years.
- F. LISTING OF REAL PROPERTY IMPROVEMENTS: List the: Description and location of all buildings, fixtures, and leasehold improvements Construction or installation date Your Original Installed Cost. The taxpayer may attach statements or accounting records to describe this property.
- G. <u>LISTING OF PERSONAL PROPERTY</u>: Natural resources personal property includes equipment, furniture, or machinery that is used in the: ■ Exploration ■ Production ■ Milling ■ Processing, and/or ■ Refining of natural resource products. If you are a first time filer, or are unsure as to whether the total actual value of your personal property per county exceeds \$52,000, please contact the county assessor. Whether or not you file a declaration schedule, the assessor may select your business for an audit.

## NOTE: List ALL Personal Property including EXPENSED ASSETS WITH A LIFE OF GREATER THANONE YEAR AND FULLY DEPRECIATED ASSETS STILL IN USE. You should also submit any relevant market value, rent, or lease information.

"CONSUMABLE" PERSONAL PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM TAXATION: Pursuant to § 39-3-119, C.R.S., personal property classified as "consumable" as defined in ARL Volume 5, Chapter 2, is exempt from taxation and should <u>NOT</u> be listed on this declaration. "Consumable" personal property is defined as any asset having a life of one (1) year or less regardless of cost, and any asset with a life longer than one year that has a reasonable original installed cost or market value in use of \$350 or less at the time of acquisition. The \$350 limitation applies to personal property that is completely assembled and ready to perform the end user's intended purpose(s) and it includes all acquisition costs, installation costs, sales/use taxes and freight expenses.

### IMPORTANT: YOU MUST SUBMIT A COMPLETE PROPERTY LISTING IF YOU HAVE NEVER PROVIDED ONE FOR THIS

**LOCATION.** Do not list merchandise inventory, materials, or supplies. <u>Do</u> list all other personal property acquired by you during the prior year. If you have given the assessor such a list, you may simply submit additions and deletions each year.

- List all taxable personal property acquired by you during the prior year, providing: Item ID Number Complete Property Description Including Model Number or Capacity ■ Year Acquired ■ If the Item is New or Used ■ Original Installed Cost to You (Current Owner), and ■ The Month and Year Each Item was First Placed into Service or is Scheduled to be Placed into Service. You should separately submit any available market value, rent, or lease information. The <u>Original Installed Cost to You</u> is defined as the amount that was paid for the personal property when <u>new</u>, inclusive of ■ Sales/Use Tax ■ Freight, and ■ Installation Charges. If the item was purchased <u>used</u>, include its Cost to You along with Sales/Use Tax, Freight, and Installation Charges.
- 2. List all taxable personal property sold, traded, or scrapped during the prior year. Provide for all items deleted: Item ID Number
- Property Description Year Acquired If the Item is New or Used, and Original Installed Cost to You (Current Owner).
- 3. List all unlicensed mobile equipment at this location. Do not list licensed vehicles, mobile equipment with SMM license plates, rental decals, or Z-tabs.
- 4. All leasehold improvements must be itemized to include: Property Description Vear Acquired, and Vour Original Installed Cost.
- H. <u>DEPRECIATION</u>: If you file a Form 4562 or 4562-A with the IRS, please provide a copy of your completed IRS Form with an itemized listing of all personal property including the description and cost of each item. Note that all personal property that is expensed should be included in your listing. In addition, attach a copy of the latest detailed Depreciation Schedule from your financial records.
- I. <u>LEASED, LOANED OR RENTED PERSONAL PROPERTY</u>: All personal property leased, loaned, or rented to you must be listed in this section. Property rented for 30 days at a time or less, returned at the renter's option, and for which sales/use tax is collected before it is finally sold, is considered exempt and should <u>NOT</u> be reported. You must identify each item of leased personal property as follows: Owner/Lessor's Name, Address, and Telephone Number Property Description Including Model and Serial Number Cost of Lease Lease Number

 $\blacksquare$  Lease Term (From-To), and  $\blacksquare$  Total Amount of Annual Rent. If any of the leased equipment is capitalized on your books and records, please check the box at the beginning of the line corresponding with the name of the Lessor. Also, if purchase or maintenance options are included in the lease, check this box and provide details of these options on a separate sheet.

J. <u>DECLARATION AND SIGNATURE</u>: Print the personal property owner's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or Social Security Number (SSN). Print name of owner, name of person signing, phone number, and e-mail address. Then sign, date, and return this form to assessor by <u>April 15th</u>. § 39-5-107, C.R.S.

[			<i>a</i>		-						
				<sup>°</sup> Colorad							
		DS 648 -	- Earth and Stone Prod			Personal Prop	perty				
Declaration Schedule											
	Confidential										
B.A. Code	T.A Code	:	Schedule/Acct#			DO NOT	USE – FO	R ASSES	SOR ON	LY	
				Cod	le	Description	Acres	Tons	Actual Value	%	Assessed Value
Assessment Date	Due Date		O COUNTY ASSESSO	<b>R</b> 512	0	Earth or Stone Products				27	
1/1/2025	4/15/2025	We	eld County	522	0 I	mprovements				27	
A. NAME AND MA	AILING ADDR	ESS (Indicate a	ny changes/corrections)	542		Equip., Furn. & Machinery				27	
								TOTALS			
				Re	ceived	1	Approve	•d			LATE
					Internet Inproved					ENALTY?	
				Cor	npleteo	d	Abstr. Ch	igs.		У	$\square$ N $\square$
PHYSICAL LOCAT	ION/LEGAL D	ESCRIPTION	OF	If you ar	If you are not the current business owner please list the name and						
THE PROPERTY AS	OF JANUARY 1	, 2025:		address	ddress of the new owner below. Date Sold:						
<b>B. OPERATION:</b> S	tart Up Date		Type of P	roduct							
BUSINESS STATUS (Check the Appropriate Box):		w Owner Check this box if this is your first return: You MUST furnish a complete itemized listing for first returns.									
L		Iumish a complete nemized listing for mist returns.							~		

C. PRODUCTION: List the description, volume, royalty rate, and retail sale price of any earth or stone extracted during the preceding calendar year.

TYPE OF PRODUCT EXTRACTED	TONS	ROYALTY	CUBIC YARDS	ROYALTY	WEIGHTED AVERAGE
	EXTRACTED	PER TON	EXTRACTED	PER CU.YD.	<b>RETAIL SALE PRICE/UNIT</b>
А.		\$		\$	
В.		\$		\$	
С.		\$		\$	
D.		\$		\$	

#### D. LEASE AND PERMIT INFORMATION (Attach a copy of the lease.)

NAME OF LESSOR	DATE OF LEASE	
DRMS PERMIT NUMBER	LENGTH OF LEASE	
LEASE OPTIONS		

#### **E. LAND INFORMATION**

PERMITTED ACRES		AFFECTED ACRES		ESTIMATED LIFE OF DEPOSIT	YEARS
-----------------	--	----------------	--	---------------------------	-------

F. LISTING OF REAL PROPERTY IMPROVEMENTS (attach separate sheet(s), if necessary): List buildings and other improvements constructed or installed the previous year. Include the property description and installation date, your original installed cost, and any additions since original installation.

Buildings and Other Improvements Description and Location	Date of Installation	Your Original Installed Cost	Additions Since Original Installation

#### G. LISTING OF PERSONAL PROPERTY:

#### \*\*FOR AN ACCURATE ASSESSMENT, WE MUST HAVE A COMPLETE LISTING OF PERSONAL PROPERTY\*\*

NOTE: Include ALL Expensed Assets With a Life of Greater Than 1 Year, Fully Depreciated Assets Still in Use, and Stored Assets. In accordance with § 39-3-119.5, C.R.S., you are not required to complete this section if the total actual value of your personal property per county is \$56,000 or less. If you are a first-time filer or are unsure as to whether the total actual value of your personal property per county exceeds \$56,000, please contact the county assessor. Whether or not you file a declaration schedule, the assessor may select your business for an audit.

#### (1) List Personal Property acquired during the previous year. (Attach separate sheet(s), if needed.) 🗆 Check if there are no additions.

Item ID#	Complete Description Including Model or Capacity	Year Acquired	Month & Year First Placed into Service	New or Used (check only one)	Original Installed Cost to you
				$\Box$ New $\Box$ Used	<b>\$</b>
				□ New □Used	\$

#### G. LISTING OF PERSONAL PROPERTY (CONTINUED):

#### (2) List Personal Property sold, traded, or permanently disposed of as of January 1. $\Box$ Check if there are no deletions.

Item ID#	Complete Description Including Model or Capacity	Year Acquired	New or Used (check only one)	Original Installed Cost to you
			□ New □Used	\$
			□ New □Used	\$

(3) List Unlicensed Mobile Equipment. Do not list mobile equipment with SMM license plates, rental decals, or Z-tabs.

Item ID #	Complete Description Including Model or Capacity	Year Acquired	Year in Use	New or Used (check only one)	Original Installed Cost to you
				$\Box$ New $\Box$ Used	\$
				$\Box$ New $\Box$ Used	\$

(4) List ALL Leasehold Improvements. (Attach separate sheets(s), if needed.)

Description	Year Acquired	Your Original Installed Cost
		\$
		\$

**H. DEPRECIATION SCHEDULE:** If you file a form 4562 or 4562-A with the IRS, please provide a copy of your completed IRS Form with an itemized listing of all personal property including the description and cost of each item. Note that all personal property that is expensed should be included in your listing. In addition, attach a copy of the latest detailed Depreciation Schedule from your financial records.

#### I. LEASED, LOANED, OR RENTED PROPERTY: Declare Property Owned by Others

Did you have any leased, loaned, or rented machinery, equipment, furniture, signs, vending machines, etc., at this location on January 1?  $\Box$  Yes  $\Box$ No

If you checked yes, list the items below, showing owner's name, address, and telephone number; property description; etc. If any of the leased equipment listed is capitalized on your books and records, please check the box at the beginning of the line corresponding with the name of the Lessor. If additional room is needed, attach a complete listing of all leased personal property. If you checked no, go to Section J to complete this form.

I.1. Personal Property							
Owner/Lessor's Name, Address,	Description Including Model/	New or Used	Tot. Lease	Orig. Inst.	Lease	Term	Annual
Telephone Number	Serial No. or Capacity		Cost	Čost	Number	From -To	Rent
		□New □Used	\$	\$			\$
		□ New □Used	\$	\$			\$
I.2. Mobile Equipment	Lic'd/Z-Tab						
		□ New □Used	\$	\$			\$
		□ New □Used	\$	\$			\$
☐ If purchase or maintenance options are included in the total annual \$ rent shown above, check here and furnish details.							

#### J. DECLARATION: (THIS RETURN IS SUBJECT TO AUDIT)

"I declare, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that this schedule, together with any accompanying exhibits or statements, has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief sets forth a full and complete list of all taxable personal property owned by me, or in my possession, or under my control, located in this county, Colorado, on the assessment date of this year; that such property has been reasonably described and its value fairly represented; and that no attempt has been made to mislead the assessor as to its age, quality, quantity, or value." § 39-5-107(2), C.R.S.

PROPERTY OWNER'S FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (FEIN)/SOCIAI	L SECURITY NUMBER (SSN)			
NAME OF OWNER				
PRINT NAME OF PERSON SIGNING	PHONE NUMBER			
E-MAIL ADDRESS	FAX NUMBER			
SIGNATURE OF OWNER OR AGENT DATE				

PLEASE COMPLETE, SIGN AND RETURN TO THE ASSESSOR ON OR BEFORE APRIL 15, 2025.