February 22, 2022

Dear Speaker Garnett, President Fenberg, Majority Leaders Esgar, and Moreno, Minority Leaders McKean and Holbert:

The undersigned 104 County Commissioners representing 38 counties from across Colorado join the Colorado Association of School Boards, the Colorado Association of School Executives, the Colorado Municipal League, the Special District Association, local government, K-12, higher education, and other interests in expressing our **strong opposition** to any proposal mandating collective bargaining for all public employees.

> We **urge all members to oppose** any efforts to advance such legislation.

A top-down, mandated approach would **impose a significant unfunded mandate** on the undersigned stakeholders and **contradict Colorado's long history of local control**. *Note, the fiscal note on HB 20-1153, Colorado Partnership for Quality Jobs and Services Act, estimated implementation costs of over \$8 million over two fiscal years - and that was recognizing only a single partnership agreement.*

The potential fiscal implications of this proposal cannot be ignored -

- **for local government**, these costs would be **borne by taxpayers** at a time when families and businesses are already struggling.
- for K-12, these costs would come at the <u>expense of direct services to students</u> at a time when students are most vulnerable and in need of extra support
- for higher education, these costs would be <u>borne by increased student tuition</u> or the additional pressure on the general fund – at a time when we need to be focusing on workforce development

The undersigned **do NOT oppose collective bargaining as a policy** – we believe this is an individual employer/employee decision.

The undersigned **would equally oppose any efforts to create a blanket prohibition** on collective bargaining rights – again on the grounds that this is a matter of individual employer/employee decision.

Rather, **this opposition is directed at the inappropriateness of the General Assembly** (1) *imposing a new unfunded mandate* at a time when the impacted entities are doing all they can to continue to serve their constituencies as they recover from a pandemic, (2) *struggle with increasing operating costs* which strain already tightened budgets, and (3) *inserting itself into local government, school, and higher education institution employment and budgetary matters* that have been, and should remain, reserved to employers, employees, and – in many cases – voters of individual jurisdictions.

The General Assembly has provided **no evidence** that such a massive shift in public policy in Colorado is in any way warranted or justified and **no compelling reason** to insert itself into the employment matters of others. It is **especially egregious that there will be no effort at the state level to compensate impacted entities** for fiscal impacts of this new unfunded mandate.

As Commissioners representing a broad cross-section of constituents, we urge you to <u>oppose</u> any efforts to advance a **new unfunded mandate** of **state mandated local collective bargaining**.

Sincerely,

Alamosa County Vern Heersink Lori Laske Michael Yahn

Archuleta County Warren Brown

Associated Governments of Northwest Colorado

Baca County Glen R. Ausmus Rick Butler Shiloh Freed

Bent County Kim MacDonnell Chuck Netherton Jean Sykes

Cheyenne County Darin Dickey R.J. Jolly Ronald R. Smith

Crowley County Blaine Arbuthnot Roy Allen Elliott Terry McMillan

Dolores County Floyd L. Cook Steve Garchar Julie Kibel

Delta County Wendell Koontz Mike Lane Don Suppes

Douglas County George Teal Lora Thomas

Elbert County Rick Pettitt Chris Richardson Grant Thayer **El Paso County**

Cami Bremer Carrie Geitner Longinos Gonzalez Stan VanderWerf Holly Williams

Fremont County

Debbie Bell Kevin Grantham Dwayne McFall

Garfield County Tom Jankovsky John Martin Mike Samson

Grand County Richard Cimino Merrit Linke Kristen Manguso

Hinsdale County Richard Hurd

Huerfano County John Galusha

Jackson County Jeff Benson Coby Corkle Daniel E. Manville

Kiowa County Mike Lening Donald Oswald Howard Robertson

Kit Carson County Stan Hitchcock Dave Hornung Cory Wall

Las Animas County Tony Hass Felix Lopez Lincoln County Steve Burgess Ed Schifferns Doug Stone

Logan County Jane Bauder Joseph A McBride Byron Pelton

Mesa County Cody Davis Scott McInnis Janet Rowland

Mineral County Jesse Albright Ramona Weaver

Moffat County Tony Bohrer Donald Broom Melody Villard

Montezuma County James Candelaria Kent Lindsay Gerald Koppenhafer

Montrose County Keith Caddy Sue Hansen Roger Rash

Morgan County Mark Arndt Jon Becker Gordon Westhoff

Otero County Jim Baldwin John Hostetler Rob Oquist Park County Ray Douglas Richard Elsner Amy Mitchell

Phillips County Terry L. Hofmeister Garold Roberts Tom Timm

Prowers County Wendy Buxton-Andrade Ron Cook Thomas Grasmick

Rio Blanco County Gary Moyer

Sedgwick County William Howard McCormick

Teller County Robert Campbell Erik Stone Dan Williams

Washington County Lea Ann Laybourn Kent Vance Tony N. Wells

Weld County Perry Buck Mike Freeman Scott K. James Steve Moreno

Yuma County Trent Bushner Scott Weaver Robin Wiley

cc: Members of the Colorado House of Representatives Members of Colorado Senate Governor Jared Polis Regional News Media Colorado Counties, Inc.