Extension Advisory Council

CSU Logo  

The Weld County Extension Advisory Council serves as a review body to counsel, advise and deliberate with the Extension staff regarding the Extension program efforts.

They provide input into evaluation, planning and implementing Extension programs by:

  • Providing an annual review of on-going Extension Programs to determine if priority exists for programs to be (A) continued as is, (B) continued with increased/decreased emphasis or (C) to be phased out.
  • Providing input for potential new programs based on problems, needs or services required as identified by organizations, commodity groups, and etc.

The Council serves as an informal link in the public relations process of communicating Extension role to the people of the County by;

  • Presenting information about on-going Extension programs to the public.
  • Obtaining feedback from the public to assist in determining programs.

They assist in obtaining the resources necessary to carry out program requests in an effective manner and provide an environment that will serve to stimulate professionalism of the Extension Agent.

The Extension Advisory Council meets six times a year every other month and will be announced, and open to all who are interested in Extension activities. These are the non-voting members.  The Annual Meeting is held in February when they decide on officers for the upcoming year which are Chairman and Chairman Elect. One or the other should be present at each meeting.

This meeting is open to any individual interested in the County Extension program and each meeting is attended by the County Extension Director.

The Weld County Extension Council consists of thirteen members consisting of two members each from 4-H and Youth Development, Livestock and Crop Science, one each from the following areas: Master Gardener/Horticulture, Family Services/Consumer Science, Business and Media and two members At Large. All members are recommended by Extension Agents in cooperation with respective advisory and/or commodity groups and requested by the county Extension Director and approval of the Board of Commissioners of Weld County. All members make application to the County Board of Commissioners. In addition, the Weld County Commissioner appointed as liaison to the Council is a member of the Council.

Council Members

Perry Buck- Weld County Commissioner
Greeley, CO

William Nelson - Livestock
Fort Collins, CO

Josh Docheff - Livestock
Longmont, CO

 William Owsley - Crop Science
Evans, CO

Lori Stevens - 4-H and Youth
Pierce, CO

Amy Cooksey - 4-H and Youth (Co-Chair)
Roggen, CO

Mike Schwan - Family and Consumer Science
Greeley, CO

Gary Schaneman - Business
Eaton, CO

Pat Kindvall - At-Large
Eaton, CO

Sean Short - Master Gardener/Horticulture
Greeley, CO

Rick Bowen - At-Large
Greeley, CO

Erin Mathews - Energy
Greeley, CO




USDA Non-Discrimination Statement(PDF, 96KB)