COVID-19 vaccines for children 6 months to 4 years available at WCDPHE
Published on June 23, 2022
Weld County, Colorado — The Weld County Department of Public Health and Environment (WCDPHE) is now scheduling COVID-19 vaccine appointments and accepting walk-ins for children ages 6 months through 17 years, following an official recommendation from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The CDC on Saturday, June 18, officially recommended the use of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine for children 6 months through 4 years old and the Moderna COVID-19 vaccine for children 6 months through 5 years old.
This announcement came after the CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices unanimously recommended use of both vaccines in this younger population and following the U.S. Food & Drug Administration's (FDA) amendment of the Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) for both vaccines. Additionally, the CDC recommends children ages 5 and older get a 3rd (booster) dose of Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine if they received their 2nd dose at least 5 months ago.
Moderna and Pfizer specifically formulated the vaccines for younger children. The dose is smaller to make sure it is safe and gives the best protection for children in each age group. Vaccination remains the best defense against getting sick with COVID-19.
All COVID-19 doses are free, and no ID, insurance, or proof of medical history is required. Additionally, under Colorado’s Healthy Families and Workplaces Act, parents are entitled to paid time off to take their child to a vaccine appointment and stay home with them if they experience side effects from the vaccine.
To schedule an appointment at WCDPHE, please call (970) 304-6420.