Brenda Dones

The Weld County Assessor is an elected officer of the county. The Assessor serves a four-year term and is elected in the county general election by the voters; if re-elected, a person can serve in the role of County Assessor for up to three consecutive four-year terms. The constitutional duty of the County Assessor is to evaluate all property in the county for property tax purposes.

To learn more about the County Assessor, visit the Assessor's webpage.

Brenda Dones

Term: 01/01/19 – 12/31/22 
Phone: (970) 400-3650

Brenda is a Colorado native who grew up on the western slope in Gunnison. She attended the University of Northern Colorado and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Mathematics.

In 2019 Brenda was elected as the Weld County Assessor. Prior to that, Brenda served as the Chief Deputy Assessor for Weld County from 2007 to 2018 and as the Senior Analyst from 1999 to 2006.  Other experience includes work as an appraiser and as an Appraisal Specialist for the Colorado Division of Property Taxation. In total, Brenda has over 25 years of appraisal, assessment and management experience and has extensive experience in the assessment of agricultural, residential, commercial, industrial, oil and gas, and pipeline property.

Brenda holds a Certified General Appraiser license and is a member of the Colorado Association of Tax Appraisers and the International Association of Assessing Officers. She serves on the Colorado Assessor Association as co-chair of the oil and gas committee and the legislative committee.

Brenda is a past Chair and graduate of Leadership Weld County and is an active member in Greeley Centennial Rotary having served as President in 2014/2015. She combined her love of the outdoors, her passion for Rotary, and her desire for children to receive a well-rounded education by serving as a charter board member for the Poudre Learning Center Foundation.  She currently is a board member for the Weld Community Foundation.

Brenda and her husband, Wade, spend their free time managing their 80-acre farm where they grow grass and alfalfa hay. They prefer all things outdoors including golfing, fishing, and skiing.

Historical List of Weld County Assessors

Weld County Assessors Past and Present


1861                      ?
1862                      ?
1863-1864             D. J. Hopkins
1864-1865             Chas M. Thomas
1865                      Jay Thomas
1865-1866             Peter Winne
1866-1867            J. H. Pinkerton
1867-1868            Chas M. Thomas
1868-1869            John Elliott
1869-1870            Daniel Scott
1870                      Seth Ward
1870-1871            Lewis M. Stone
1871                     E. D. Quiqley
1871                     Jonas Higley
1872-1873            Holland Scott
1873-1874            John Eacker
1874-1875            Calvin Kelsey
1875-1879            W. J. Kram
1879-1885            James Torrens
1885-1887            James Sutherland
1887                     James Torrens
1887-1889            A. I. Wilson
1889-1893            Thos C. Williams
1893-1895            Wm. A. Hotchkiss
1895-1899            Wm. P. Wasley
1899-1900            Everett H. Stevens
1900-1908            J. C. Wylie
1908-1912            A. R. Fischer
1912-1916            Abram L. Mumper
1916-1922            Robert E. Hanna
1922-1932            Homer Bedford
1932-1947            Chas M. Whiteside
1947-1953            Homer M. Bruce
1953-1959            W. T. Kennedy
1959-1967            H. H. Hansen
1967-1971            George E. Barber
1971-1985            H. H. Hansen
1985-1990            Richard W. Keirnes
1990-1998            Warren L. Lasell
1998-2007            Stanley F. Sessions
2007-2018            Christopher M. Woodruff
2019-Present        Brenda Dones