Weld County welcomes new Chief Financial Officer

Published on November 01, 2021

Cheryl Pattelli_w.jpg

On November 29, 2021, Cheryl Pattelli will join Weld County Government as its new Chief Financial Officer (CFO). Pattelli, who is currently the CFO for the City of Boulder, will be responsible for the overall financial management processes for the county, including expanding and developing systems for financial reporting, budgets, cash flows and projection. She will also lead the county’s accounting team in managing and overseeing the day-to-day financial operations for county government.

“I am excited to start this next chapter with Weld County,” said Pattelli. “I look forward to working with an organization that aligns with my values and beliefs.”

The addition of Pattelli marks the final transition for Weld County’s long-time Director of Finance, Don Warden. Warden, who has managed Weld County’s finances for 43 years, plans to retire at the end of 2022.

“We knew the day would come when Don would want to retire,” said Chairman Steve Moreno. “Filling his shoes is a monumental task, but we are confident Ms. Pattelli will be a great fit with our organization.”

Pattelli, who has 27 years of experience in financial management and accounting at both public and private sector organizations, also served as the CFO/Executive Director of Finance for Kane County Government in Illinois from 1996-2012.

“We conducted a nationwide search for this position,” said Warden. “We knew it had to be the right person with the right experience to continue Weld County on its path of financial success and security. I look forward to spending the next year working with Ms. Pattelli as she transitions into the
CFO role.”

About Pattelli

  • MBA (Finance) DePaul University, Chicago, IL
  • BS (Accounting) University of Illinois, Champaign
  • Certified Public Accountant
  • Colorado PERA Board of Trustee member
  • Current member of AICPA’s Gov’t Performance and Accountability Committee
  • Vice-Chair of GFOA’s Treasury and Investment Management Committee
  • CGFOA’s 2017 Finance Officer of the Year